Friday, November 10, 2006

fancy parties and rain

mn and i attended our first fancy art museum party last saturday night. we donned our best "dress up" clothes, took a taxi (because it was open bar) and hit the town. the party was for the opening of the egypt exhibit and 1000+ portlanders came out to view the exhibit and celebrate the museum. the museum ballrooms were decorated lavishly with hints of egypt including two ice luges for drinks. the food was spectacular - mn even liked the hummus, which usually isn't one of her favorites. we both enjoyed the pyramid cake - yep, a cake in the shape of a pyramid - mainly because it reminded us of the yummy cupcakes we've come to love. after the party, we headed out for cocktails with some of my work peeps and had a great time.

the rain has been falling in historic proportions for the past week - a graphic on the news the other night stated portland has gotten 430% more rain this month than they usually do. we didn't think it was anything unusual because this is portland, but apparently they don't usually get this much rain at one time. it's been fine, though, we just make sure to grab the umbrella and go out into the world. no reason to let a little water keep you indoors. the weather has to take a backseat to what we wanna do and when we wanna do it. otherwise, we're being controlled by an outside force we have no control over and that seems a little crazy to me. there are already enough forces at work against us - shouldn't we stand up to the ones we know we can conquer? i mean, it's not like we're going to melt - we'll just get wet and eventually we'll dry. so the message i'm attempting to get across is this...don't let anything get in the way of you participating in activities you want to participate in - not rain, not snow, not fear, not anything.

stay tuned for more lessons. in the meantime, here is a photo of us from the art museum party.

thanks for continuing to read our ramblings - we love and miss all y'all.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

3 comments:

Anonymous said...

Tahnks for sending the news on the party and especially the pictures...you both look beautiful!! Sounds like it was a great party even though it was "fancy".

I love you!!!

Anonymous said...

Hi Girls,

This is a neat site. I'm very proud of both of you.

Lucky, please call me at 256.534.4547.

LOVE. Dad

Anonymous said...

M, I want your shirt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You both look gorgeous!